TAKE BETTER NOTES

How to Set Up A Hybrid Note-Taking System

The Subtle Reason Why I Have Two Note-Taking Systems (And Why You Should, Too)

Matt Giaro
3 min readApr 18, 2022

--

Image by Freepik

If you’re taking notes and have a voyeur-tendency to know more about how others take effective notes… This article will feed some of your curiosity.

For ten years, I’ve been looking at my notes as “one dimensional”.
I was doing nothing else than saving information into my note-taking app:
Information about my everyday life, information about the stuff I learned, and my ideas.

This wasn’t necessarily a bad thing.
In fact, writing things down is a good way to keep track of them.

But then I started realizing that I was barely revisiting my notes.
In other words, I was saving a lot, but not that much engaging with it.

My routine looked like so:
1. Consuming content
2. Dumping information into my note-taking app
3. Going ahead with my day

After years, I realized that I had a serious problem with my note-taking system:
I was not taking notes; I was collecting them!

This triggered long months of research and transitioning, until I stumbled on the note-taking methodology called “Zettelkasten” (which is German and means “slip-box”).
The Zettelkasten seemed to be the solution to stop taking notes without revisiting them. It allows you to solidify your knowledge and come up…

--

--

Matt Giaro

6 Figure Creator. Helping experts turn their ideas into income with online content (in just 2h/day.) Start now 👉 https://mattgiaro.com/medium